Skip to main content

Why the Moon turns red during a total lunar eclipse

  • 769,911 Views
  • 340 Questions Answered
  • Best of Web

Let’s Begin…

Whenever you look up at a full moon, you're seeing sunlight that's reflected off the lunar surface. So if something were to block that sunlight, say the Earth, then the moon should disappear from view. But during a total lunar eclipse, when the moon passes through the Earth's shadow, we get a red moon, not a vanishing one. So what's going on? Tech Insider takes a quick trip to the lunar surface.

Create and share a new lesson based on this one.

About TED-Ed Best of Web

TED-Ed Best of Web are exceptional, user-created lessons that are carefully selected by volunteer teachers and TED-Ed staff.

Meet The Creators

Additional Resources for you to Explore
The moon will pass under Earth's shadow on Tuesday, November 8, 2022, resulting in a complete lunar eclipse visible from Oceania, the Americas, Asia, and Northern Europe.

Beginning at 4:10 a.m. EST (0810 GMT), the eclipse will last until the moon re-emerges at about 7:49 a.m. EDT (1149 GMT).The complete eclipse, on the other hand, will continue from 5:17 a.m. EST (0917 GMT) until 6:42 a.m. EST (1042 GMT).

Check out how to see the Blood Moon with NASA.

Customize this lesson

Create and share a new lesson based on this one.

About TED-Ed Best of Web

TED-Ed Best of Web are exceptional, user-created lessons that are carefully selected by volunteer teachers and TED-Ed staff.

Meet The Creators